play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of New Age Motor Sales Ltd

At New Age Motor Sales Ltd we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

New Age Motor Sales Ltd

New Age Motor Sales Ltd
5
4.9

Based on 201 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Great service , would highly recommend

    By Andy D on 25 October 2020 | Purchase not verified

    Very helpful and friendly. Very pleased with my new car , well presented. I couldn’t ask for more.


  • 5

    Excellent service

    By Himal G on 04 July 2020 | Purchase not verified

    Very trustworthy and provide good service. Car was purchased online and he agreed to deliver to my home foc on time. Quick and efficient service. Highly recommend.


  • 5

    Horrible service

    By Tinika B on 17 March 2020 | Purchase not verified

    Be very careful, so nice when wanting a car and as soon as you get it issues with the car and didnt want to give the money back had to have finance company come out to car, caused so much stress and he knew i was heavily pregnant, finally got my money back due to finance company, be careful as soon as he collected he advertised the car again doubt he got the issue sorted . It was up for sell a few hours later .

    Reply from New Age Motor Sales Ltd on 19/03/20

    Totally agree. Try to be nice with every customer and agree to the fact that you called your finance co,but totally disagree with not giving you your money back for a car you claimed had a fault but as you was supplied a car fully serviced and motd with no advisories Plus 6 months warranty. Then after the car was inspected the only fault found was the oil was slightly over by 1/2 a litre.Not what you claimed was wrong and was entitled to a refund. I know reviews are there to give a idea of how people are treated but a 1 star review for a car that was inspected and had nothing wrong and yes I sold it to the same finance co 5 days later and the customer is very happy. Still you cant please every one and good luck in the future


  • 5

    Honest,Friendly and hassle free.

    By Myrrie B on 05 March 2020 | Purchase not verified

    I had been looking for a first car for my daughter for a few months and came across a lovely little Micra from New age. Rang and spoke to Mark who was very open honest and straight forward. After seeing the car the next day it was everything promised. Low verified mileage with full service history inc all previous invoices for work done at services. I would 110% recommend. No pressure to purchase and was left to inspect the car at my leisure. Drove the car back on a two hour journey with no hassle. a true gent of the motor trade.


  • 5

    Car for my wife....

    By Richard D on 15 October 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Just collected my BMW 120D from Mark and what a fantastic service I received.. He was very upfront & genuine about the car... I would highly recommend buying a car from him.. We looked at many cars over the weeks/weekends as you do when trying to buy a new car i should have just bought this the first time i viewed it.. Then i would have saved so much time as there are so many non genuine & tatty cars out there!! As Mark said which i now agree " Happy wife Happy life" Thanks again Mark!!


  • 5

    Terrible is an under statement

    By Christal A on 13 October 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Only giving 1 start because I can’t put 0. Terrible is an understatement for the experience I have had with this dealership! After purchasing my Vauxhall Antara, it completely broke down less than a month with so many problems. The dealership was extremely rude to me and my father. They would not take it back for a check as it shouldn’t have presented with so many issues less than a month’s worth of use. He palmed us off saying we needed to use the warranty which only covered a small portion of the cost to get the car repaired. The repairs would be over £3000 plus all the other issues with it. I refused to pay for this as I only had the car for a short period of time, and it shouldn’t have issues with the brake lights, gearbox or cracks in the windscreen. I am now stuck with a broken car. This dealership is not a reputable place. I had the car checked and was told it was not road worthy and should not have been sold in that condition. This dealership should be ashamed of themselves, ta

    Reply from New Age Motor Sales Ltd on 15/10/19

    Thank you for your comments But if you are going to write a damming review then please tell the truth Yes your car supposedly had a fault but it wasn’t until you had owned it for 3 months at which point you made a complaint to your finance company and they contacted me, At no point in you owning your car have you ever contacted me with any issues , You was offered through you finance company to have your vehicle collected and inspected for any faults but after numerous emails and phone calls from them you never responded. I can only assume that as you could not get your money back from them as you failed to contact either me or them that you wish to discredit someone who has done nothing wrong. Again if you are trying to discredit someone please tell the truth or at least contact them so they can try to resolve any issues if there are in fact there are any at all. Thanks and best of luck in the future


  • 5

    Disappointing car

    By Sophie H on 23 September 2019 | Purchase not verified

    8 days after buying the car, the engine started making a loud noise. The dealer said it was the timing-chain tensioners needing tightening - I was happy for this to be fixed. It turned out that the timing-chain sprockets, sensor, tensioners and timing chain were damaged. At this point I asked for a refund - the dealer rejected. The car was delivered back with no paperwork. I booked it into a garage to get a full assessment. They found an oil leak coming from the rocker gasket cover. This needed to be replaced. Since then, the car developed a noise from the rear. When it was taken apart by the mechanic, a huge amount of gravel fell out of the bumper (I have never driven over gravel). It turns out the petrol tank needed to be replaced! (The warranty does not cover). Renault confirmed this should not happen under normal wear and tear. What upsets me is I told the dealer I wanted a safe, reliable car.If the dealer had any customer etiquette he should have taken the car back

    Reply from New Age Motor Sales Ltd on 25/09/19

    Hi Very sorry to hear that you dont think I did enough. Unfortunately I did try and I do agree you timing chain did fail by shear bad luck and as per your instructions you asked for the vehicle to be repaired under the consumer law and did not want a refund, I repaired your vehicle within the time frame agreed and returned your car at no cost and fully working. To your point of gravel in the bumper I have no answer as you have had the car for 6 months and some how there is gravel in your bumper now ? I also did not drive over gravel 6 months ago so cant explain how it got there and as per your telephone conversations you was just looking for me to keep paying for something that could of happened any time since your ownership. As I express to every one that purchases a car from me that they are not new and we make every effort to make them as good as possible but dont think I can be responsible for gravel in your bumper 6 months later. I hope you have no further issues with your car.


  • 5

    Excellent Garage highly recommended!! A+ customer

    By Stuart K on 11 March 2019 | Purchase not verified

    I purchased a car from New Age Motors, Mark was very helpful and very honest which is a breath of fresh air when it comes to car dealers. Absolutely over the moon with my car exactly as he described. I would definitely use him again when purchasing a car. Could not recommend him enough. Thanks for a fantastic car.


  • 5

    If your traveling a long distance to purchase

    By John O on 17 June 2018 | Purchase not verified

    Every step of our transaction was agreed and fell into place before we left home (Irl) ,flew to Luton on a wet and stormy evening , Mark picked us up drove us to his home where this was very reassuring when your doing a transaction. It is said you should never buy a car when it is raining or at night,we’ll if your buying a car off this company you can arrive with a guide dog and a white stick you will be getting exactly what the advertisement said . We purchased one of the cleanest VW golfs I’ve ever seen alsoloutely delighted with it.Drove to the boat that night home the following day ,job done. I’m looking forward to doing business with this gent again 100% professional .


  • 5

    Car purchase

    By John H on 23 November 2017 | Purchase not verified

    Now had our car for a couple of months and the wife could not be happier. The buying process could not have been easier and I would recommend them without hesitation if you are looking to purchase a new car